So in making my presentation for Saturday I realized that I had committed two sins as far as the blog was concerned.  First, I tried too hard and then was disappointed that no one seemed to care (on the surface anyways) what I was doing. I mean, it does speak to our whole communication system with each other or lack thereof when I ask colleagues twice to check the blog out and maybe make a comment.  I imagine that they felt so overwhelmed with work that I was at the bottom of their list.  Get Over Yourself was another tip I realized I had gone a little over-board with.  I am a person who has so many thoughts swirling in her head, who understands writing and ways to make it fun for students (yes, while meeting standards) that I just wanted everyone to listen, or come to me for help.  Again, perhaps I tried too hard.  So let me answer my own question for you and let’s begin this dialogue.

I truly believe that writing for some is instinctual, that somehow writing is just an extension of their thoughts.  That would be me.  I believe great books add to style and technique….I love words so when I read something that is just beautiful, I jot it down in a little notebook I keep.  I had one teacher who helped, Mrs. Nutting.  She believed in me and she made me feel that I had talent..so much so that she entered one of my stories to Scholastic and I won a Junior Writing Award.  You know, I still have that little medal in my jewelry box and am just as proud of it today as I was in 6th grade.  During my teenage years life was hard for our family and I found the poet Rod McKuen. I think i read all of his books and dove into poetry.  It was a way of releasing all the twisted emotions on paper and somehow processing the world around me.  Before our sons were born, I kept a journal every week for them…telling them about my pregnancy, talking to them even before they arrived.  I have those journals tucked in a box for them to have someday when they won’t laugh, ruffle my hair and tease me at all the maternal, sweet love I was pouring onto paper.  When tragedy struck my life again in my 40’s I was so numb that the only way I could untangle all the baggage was through keeping a journal.  I visit them still, the earlier ones and it provides me with a compass bearing on how far I have come.  You know, I always wanted to be either a journalist, and secretly want to publish a novel. I have scenes here and there stored away when I suddenly have a flash of inspiration and I know that I can’t rush it and that the book will take its own course.  Perhaps the only ones who will ever read it will be my sons but that will be okay too.  So, I am curious and anxious to read what your thoughts are on writing so stay in touch!

