I love technology.  It enabled me to return to college and still be home with my “babies” and it opened a world to me I never would have dreamed possible.  I remember I actually went to a computer consultant to purchase my first computer and my sons and I sat around the diningroom table watching T-T-Tonka load and we thought it was MAGIC.  The computer was stationed in the kitchen, and many hours were spent on simulated fishing (we thought we could FEEL the boat rock!) and who could forget Sim City, and the Oregon Trail!  Thank you cards were designed for grandparents with beautiful graphics (more than words) and I felt that the world was at our fingertips right there in our little home.  Today I had a revelation.  I am not as savvy as I once thought I was…

Now I have a Mac Book Pro, an ipad, an ipod touch and iphone…all of which keep me synced and up to date with all of my meetings, Siri is my morning friend when I ask her for the weather, and when I am waiting for someone, or something, I can always check my phone for the latest on social media or whatnot.  Today, however, an 8 year old trumped all that I knew.  This little redhead in my classroom picked up my phone, and with lightening speed swiped buttons, told me that I had too many applications open, changed some of my settings to make it easier, gave me a button for multi-tasking, created files of like applications and did more on my darn phone in 5 minutes than I have learned in a year.  I was rather baffled at the speed and accuracy….and intelligence that this third grader had with my technology AND I AM THE ADULT!!!  I gave him a hug and as his chest proudly swelled, he assured me that if I brought my ipad in on Friday, he could make sure I was conserving my battery life, check my overall storage, and show me a trick or too.  I can’t even fathom how this little boy knows so much, but the light in his eyes as he was teaching me……and I honestly wanted to take notes (Nerd that I am) reaffirmed to me yet again that we should integrate more technology in schools.  I am glad that learning is reciprocal in my classroom as I can teach students about long division, fractions, complete sentences and the nuances of being a good writer but this kid….well, he actually put me to shame.  Tomorrow however, I am definitely bringing my ipad in for some more technical assistance and I just bet I will be astounded yet again.  Have a wonderful weekend if you are reading this….enjoy those dyed Easter eggs and family dinner……and definitely take some pictures to  sync on icloud and share with us all!

